Maybe it's just me, but wincustomize.com is not getting any better...

Maybe it's just me, but after a couple of days of downtime of wincustomize.com I was quite happy to see the site back up again... But the first thing that got installed while visiting this site is spyware. Not happy anymore...

I don't mind some banners or add's, but forcing users to get a subscription, otherwise all kind of sh*t finds your way into your computer sound kind od doggy to me
I am a long time user (legit) of ObjectDesktop and I was not so sure about continueing my subscription with StarDock, but now I know...

The reason that the site was down, was that StarDock released some game is the worsed excuse ever, never heard from bandwidth restrictions? And now I got a message that some download limit of 90Mb exists here as well, oh well...
I like to thanx all the people who made some very nice skins, maybe I see you around with AveDesk or some other non-Stardock programs...

Regards, Stonehedge. (sorry for the bad English, I am not a native speaker)
2,244 views 5 replies
Reply #1 Top
This site contains no spyware.
Reply #2 Top
Perhaps you mean Ad-aware? Two totally different things that come from Ads displayed on a site. If you run Spybot Search and Destory, Spyblaster and the new MS Defender the 3 will silently block any ads on a website that contain this Ad-aware. Stardock thank God does not have spyware nor copy protection. I would think everyone knows this by now.

About the comment on the game, this is a very silly comment, Stardock did not expect the game to be as popular as it is. Why bash a great company like Stardock for making a successful game?
Reply #3 Top

 stonehedge  ...you've been a member/user since July, 2001....quite a long time for a total listed as '16meg' downloading, clearly not a frequent 'user'...

If a banner ad posted on the site has an issue with spyware, etc please post the relevant URL so that it can be verified dealt-with.

No-one is forcing anyone to do anything....

If you are still a current OD user/customer then you shouldn't see the ads once logged in....

Reply #4 Top
Hehehe, 16Mb is indeed not much, but I downloaded a lot outside my user account here, I hate beeing watched and tracked....

I don't know which banner add tries to download some "registry cleaner tool" (here in the Netherlands), but it gives me an "Ok" or "Cancel" choice to install, if you choose Cancel, all your explorer windows closes.
So maybe other people are willing to install some unwanted software from a banner add, but in my opinion it could even be a root kit or indeed spyware or maybe it just what it said it was: a registry checker and cleaning tool. I don't know and I am not willing to try it out...
Reply #5 Top
"WinFixer" by any chance?