if you did not wanted

check this out if you did not wanted your skins there

They also use wincust layout

http://www.thetopthemes.com/skinicq1.html
7,445 views 20 replies
Reply #1 Top
your link didn't work Alex but maybe this one will... http://www.thetopthemes.com/
Reply #2 Top
seems they didn't want to steal any of mine

This is a great example of the *other* skinning world.

They have a link on the front page to something called EZ Themes that will automatically upload your skin to over 60 sites like this. yikes...
Reply #3 Top
Looks like they stole the Wincustomize layout for the ICQ list and just took a bunch of skins with it. The Winamp section is still all photoskins and the other layout (like the last pages of the ICQ section).

They are probably in the process of updating their site with Alex's layout and skins from here. Someone needs to let these guys know it's not okay to steal...
Reply #5 Top
I sent an email to all the links they have for contacts.
________________________________________________
Sirs,

Your site has artwork from several artisits that post their work at www.wincustomize.com

It appears you have taken the screenshots and the files from either there or deviantart.com.

If you do not have the author's permission to publish their work on your site, this is a violation of international copyright laws and will be reported to your ISP. Please remove any of the skins for which you have not contacted the authors to get permission for use on your site.

It has also been noticed that you "borrowed" the layout and design from Wincustomize in the ICQ section.

Please, have the regard to treat the artists with respect. If you want to use something you see elsewhere... ask for permission.

DavidK
lightstream@home.com
________________

Reply #6 Top
http://www.thetopthemes.com/skinicq2.html
Reply #7 Top
I was on that site a few days back, and their skin of the day, was the exact same as Devart's Daily Dev, even the descriptive text was the same, it was written by Monaux, and this other site even included that.
Reply #8 Top
I just found some of my skins there that shouldn't be. They got this in return for their trouble:

Hello

My name is Mark McQuillan. I skin under the name of Hippy. After being informed of your site, I find various pieces of my work being displayed and distributed here. However, I have never submitted any skins here, nor gave permission for them to be on the site.
It also seems that my ICQ skins have been lifted straight from Wincustomize, along with half the layout.

I would very much appreciate it if you would kindly remove my work from the site.
Thank you
Mark McQuillan.

Reply #9 Top
p.s. Why the hell didn't you rip my Winamp stuff too?.....



hehe
Reply #10 Top
My WinAmp skin ain't there either...

Maybe that's because it stink worse than a wet dog

hehe
Reply #11 Top
it's plain to see that they've ripped off the WC page when in the html you can read this

""

hmmmm....it's not very smart to leave that in the code
Reply #13 Top
meta name="Author" content="Alexandrie"

hahaha, anyone would think that this is the porn website community but the way everyone's ripping off eachother's work.
Reply #14 Top
damn he also forgot to remove my name in the meta
weird guy
Reply #15 Top
Koasati found that site a week or two ago and noticed a few of my skins were there too. I e-mailed the web-master and asked politely for him to remove my work, and he did so with no problems. He even apologized for the mis-undstanding. So at least he's willing to be decent about it once contacted.

I had meant to e-mail you, Alexandrie, about that site rip, but with so may personal things going on in my life right now, I forgot to..sorry about that..*s
Reply #17 Top
here's the reply I got from him:
__________________________________________________

Hi,

First of all I’ll remove the skins you mention, however there not taken from the site you mention, www.wincustomize.com

It’s the first time I see this site.



“It has also been noticed that you "borrowed" the layout and design from Wincustomize in the ICQ section.”



I’m sorry but I have never been on this site. I didn’t even know it existed.

Bill
__________________________________________________

considering the meta tag with Alexandrie's name I suspect he either has someone else building the site for him or he's a liar.

Reply #18 Top
Dave...send him the indication of the tag and a 'please explain'.....it's gotta be hard to get around Alex's name in there....
Reply #19 Top
I also received the same reply that David did and they have kept to their promise and have changed the link to their old style page for their ICQ themes. However the following pages still exist but I do not know if there are any direct links to those pages.

http://www.thetopthemes.com/skinicq2.html
http://www.thetopthemes.com/skinicq.html
Reply #20 Top
Since they stole the layout, which is a breach of copyright, I believe we have found a way to fund WC. Sue! Sue! Sue!