This problem still exists in 1.0. Very annoying. Just lost my units to it.
- There needs to be a visual marker on the unit and the icon in the unit list to show they are in "explore" mode.
- Any action on the players part needs to cancel explore.
- There needs to be a "Cancel Orders" button on the unit to also cancel any prior commands.