Stardock

Suggested .98 playthrough.

By on September 21, 2012 12:45:32 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Tuidjy

Join Date 08/2010
+78

Some people may remember my .913, .915, and .952 playthroughs.  I am considering a new one, and I am doing it to test a theory. 

The theory is as follows:

In .98, overpowered heroes are the most effective strategy, and the productivity/research costs and facilities make training units nonviable.

As any wanna-be-scientist (I am an engineer, and everyone knows we are just people who did not make it as scientists) I am going to devise a test to falsify the theory.

So this is what I plan to do: I will make a custom race and a custom sovereign that will be exclusively focused on building the best trained units possible.  Every single point of design will go in supporting research/production/units.

Then I will play the game to win, that is, I will do the best I can with what I have.

Then if I win due to trained units, it will mean that my theory is wrong.  If I lose, or win due to my heroes , we'll look for another experiment.

Here is what I plan to do:

Race: No ranged weapons, vulnerable to magic, defensive, master scout, light plate, master smiths, warrior caste.

Sovereign: General, Earth, Life, Scholar, crown+sword.

Difficulty: If it's not insane, it's usually not much of a challenge, but I can be convinced on this one.

Anyway.

Please do not use this thread to argue whether the theory is correct.  I would like to keep it for suggestion for the playthrough.  Also, remember your scientific method.  I could design a uberhero, and kick ass with him, but that won't prove anything.  You can't prove a theory, you can only fail to disprove it.

20 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
September 21, 2012 1:18:04 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

No ranged weapons seems contrary to your thesis.