Stardock

First 4 Hours of gameplay for beginner: spammy pirates, spammy AI.

very frustrating: spam! spam! spam!

By on July 18, 2012 7:19:10 PM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

SergeiFranco

Join Date 07/2012

Hi,

I am new to this game. I play a lot of Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance, and I wanted to explore new RTS games.

Sins of Solar Empire: Rebellion came up as a very interesting candidate.

Impressions so far: you have to spam to win. Haven't managed to win a game yet.

I started a small random single player game (where is the difficulty settings for single player?), and after 4 Hours of barely surviving the pirate raids (why they are so spammy?), I got owned by AI. I tried to outbid the AI on pirate raids (wait until last second and increment the bid), and ran out of money. My 3 capital ships against one of AI, somehow they could not kill it. Then backup came, and I got owned hard.

Is there a way for beginner to ease into this game? The upgrades from tech tree seem have no effect to the outcome.

Lack of proper Single Player setup screen (eg: set starting position, selecting faction tweak difficulty etc.) is disappointed. Or did I not see it?

The game seems to target multiplayer, and I have no chance winning that . So far I seem to figure out that you can start a multiplayer game with AI (and rest of the players locked out), which will work as single player.

I like to play defensively, and slowly expand. I guess this game is wrong for me?

20 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
July 18, 2012 7:40:30 PM from Sins of a Solar Empire Forums Sins of a Solar Empire Forums