Stardock.com ‚Äč

Beta 1.2 vs The Sins Optimization Project: Results?

By on February 15, 2011 7:40:49 PM from Sins of a Solar Empire Forums Sins of a Solar Empire Forums External Link

boshimi336

Join Date 03/2008
+65

For those that do not know what the Sins Optimization Project is, please click the link below and some descriptions from their original post.

http://forums.sinsofasolarempire.com/378149

The project initially started out as an idea to reduce the texture sizes, and poly counts of some models. Not just arbitrary reductions. The goal was to maintain the quality of Sins in game. To look like nothing has been changed at all.

I studied the Particle files, and textures. Many of the particle textures IMO were also way to high resolution. A reduction by 1/2 showed no visible difference in game in most cases.  There were some exceptions where it did effect the appearence in game, and those textures were left alone. Remember the goal was not to reduce in game quality. Also all of the particle textures were changed from TGA format to DDS format, because DDS uses far less memory, and is much more efficient. The particles also utilize the mip mapping features of DDS.