+8

I've never done this before.

19 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
July 10, 2009 6:16:21 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Me neither. Fortunately, you don't actually HAVE to participate in the feedback process: you can just play the game. It's not like they have a limited number of downloads or anything.

July 10, 2009 6:29:12 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Yeah, basically if you see something wrong, say it.  It's not like there's an NDA or anything.

July 10, 2009 6:42:33 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

I imagine it's a lot like being a good QA person to begin with. Look to exercise the corner cases. Don't always move, click, etc in the same way. If you can do something on a map or in a dialog, try both. Cast spells. Multi-select things that aren't alike and see what happens. If I select the city then try to multi-select a nearby army, is that legal?

Even if you don't take that kind of approach and instead just play the game and report any bugs, you'll want to stress the game by avoiding ruts. Go military one time, go spell caster another, go all research, or all explore. Choose play styles that make you try out different areas of the game each time. Played zoomed all the way out once, then zoomed way in another time. Do all the map elements show up correctly in both cases? And on, and on

July 10, 2009 6:55:45 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums

Quoting ckessel,
... Even if you don't take that kind of approach and instead just play the game and report any bugs, you'll want to stress the game by avoiding ruts. ...

Your post in general seems very sensible to me, but I wonder if there isn't also value in having some of us work our little ruts as hard as we can, especially if that more or less just means getting as far along in a very large map as you can before the next build is posted.